FOOD FRIDAY: CASABLANCA

DSC_0085Casablanca is one of those restaurants I drove by a million times on my way to work, and one night decided to stop in. It was everything I hoped it would be and more. This one of a kind restaurant combines Mexican cuisine with the 1943 Academy Award winning movie, Casablanca. I am a HUGE fan of the film, and that combined with a killer margarita makes a good night for me. 
DSC_0071 DSC_0074

Casablanca  has a large collection of memorabilia, the owner, Carlos Haro, Jr., showed me his time capsule from the film, cement hand prints of the cast, and don’t forget to see the life size statute of Humphrey Bogart.DSC_0076

Not only does this restaurant have an amazing theme, it has fantastic food. There is a woman in the middle of the of the restaurant making hand-made flour tortillas, which are brought straight from her grill to your table with green salsa made with avocado, cilantro and cheese.

DSC_0077

My favorite part of Casablanca is the Tequila Express. Run by my man Chip, he has a variety of tequilas and can tell you everything about them. They also make their own sweet and sour mix and these margaritas are just, dare I say it, the best I’ve ever had. (I think I want to go get one right now…)

DSC_0078

For dinner I always have the fish tacos, and this time Joel got seafood brochette. We enjoyed our food while a woman in the corner quietly played traditional Mexican songs, she sings beautifully and it really adds to the ambiance of the restaurant.

DSC_0082 Behind Joel you can see one of the murals that decorate the walls of the restaurant. This one is of the inside of Rick’s Cafe, where most of the movie is set.

DSC_0083Live Music, hand-made tortillas, themed decor, and a margarita to DIE for, this restaurant has everything. One of my favorite spots for overall experience, Casablanca is a place you must stop at if you’re in the Venice area. I highly recommend the the film and the restaurant. 
DSC_0086

OOTN:

Romper – Forever 21

Sandals – Forever 21

Bag – Target

DSC_0069

They also have the parking spots reserved for each actor, that night we parked in Paul Henreid’s spot, who plays the handsome Victor Laszlo in the film.

Click here to learn more about the restaurant, and here to learn more about the film.

Don’t forget to subscribe to this blog for more Food Fridays and L and A in L.A.

XOXO – Loee

One thought on “FOOD FRIDAY: CASABLANCA

  1. Pingback: FOOD FRIDAY: CASABLANCA | Tinseltown Times

Leave a Reply

